Important Course Information

We are excited to now present the Foundations of Faith Community Nursing as a hybrid course, with both online self-study modules and in-person instruction.  You are required to complete the self-study modules prior to attending the in-person modules.  Please read the information below thoroughly so you can plan your class participation.

The specialty designation of “Faith Community Nurse” is available only after completion of all the self-study and in-person modules.

Self-study Modules

The online self-study modules are hosted by the Adventist Learning Community.  The 13 modules must be completed prior to attending the in-person class (see below).  Contact hours for nurses will be provided for completion of each of the 13 modules.  Click the “Enroll Now” button for full details.  There is no cost to these modules, however you must purchase the textbooks noted below.

  1. Health, Healing & Whole Health
  2. Spiritual Care
  3. Prayer
  4. Loss and Suffering
  5. Behavioral Health
  6. Advocacy, Care Coordination and Transitional Care
  7. Assessment & Assessing Resources
  8. Documenting Practice
  9. Legal Issues, part 1
  10. Ethical Issues, part 1
  11. Health Promotion
  12. Communication and Collaboration
  13. Closing Instructions
  1. Foundations of Faith Community Nursing Curriculum, Participant Guide 2019 Revision. Available through Amazon
  2. Faith Community Nursing: Scope and Standards of Practice, 3rd Edition. Available through Amazon
  3. Obtain a copy of the Nurse Practice Act for your State of practice.

In-person Modules

Dates:  April 26-28, 2024
Format:  In-person
Location:  NAD Headquarters, Columbia, MD

The in-person modules are scheduled in advance and may be held at a local venue or via Zoom.  These 8 modules are completed following the self-study modules (see above).  Contact hours for nurses will be provided upon successful completion of the 8 modules.  There is a cost for attendance and materials.  Click the “Learn More” button for full details.

During the Commissioning Service, you will receive your completion certificate for the Faith Community Nurse specialty designation.  Attendance and full participation at all sessions are required in order to qualify.

  1. Orientation
  2. Beginning Your Ministry
  3. History & Philosophy of Nursing
  4. Violence
  5. Legal Issues, Part 2
  6. Ethical Issues, Part 2
  7. Putting It All Together
  8. Commissioning Service

The in-person modules require the same textbooks used for the self-study modules.  Be sure to bring these with you.

The Foundations of Faith Community Nursing course was developed by the Westberg Institute to prepare eligible nurses for the FCN specialty. The intense training can also be used by nurses to strengthen their ministry in a faith setting.

Individuals who complete a course offered through the AAFCN, and meet eligibility criteria, will receive a complimentary 1-year membership in AAFCN.